CARCAR CITY: My Walk of the Heritage City of Cebu!

My Carcar City walk was a breeze. Short, sweet, a little overcast but it did not dampen in any way my Carcar walk! In less than 2-hours, this is the shortest heritage walk I’ve done so far and with that said, it did not make any less my discovery of Carcar City – the Heritage City of Cebu![See complete set of photos of my Carcar Walk in my Flickr]

Before embarking, I did a brief research of what to see in Carcar. Being a heritage city [the other three are Vigan, Silay and Taal], I knew I am going to travel back in time with structures of historical, cultural and artistic significance. There are a lot written about Carcar heritage houses and I listed them, checked google-map for location, jotted down my directions and I was ready! Took a bus and in less than an hour, I reached Carcar. I started my walk as soon as I got down the bus.

Bus to Carcar City Cebu

FIRST STOP – ROTUNDA AND PUBLIC MARKET: From first sight, the Kiosk of the ROTUNDA is intricate and there are a lot to see! It has 4-stairs from all directions going up the platform. Its dome is donned with tiny complex details and design, topped with 2-women statues interpreted to be America guiding the Philippines. Noticeable is the ARCH design of the Kiosk [typical design on top of old houses’ windows] which I interpreted to be either “sunrise” or a “fan.”

Callazo

I have also observed that the design has somehow become the City’s “insignia.” It is evident in buildings and other public structures which I have noticed including that of the Dispensary [now Carcar Museum]. You can see the arch design in the Public Market, waiting sheds, the City Hall and few private buildings like that of Jolibee near the Rotunda. I have to ask why but I was not provided with an answer. The only thing I was told was that it’s called CALLAZO but google cannot provide what it means. As to why it is being incorporated in public buildings remains unanswered.

Carcar City Cebu Rotunda

Walking distance from the Rotunda is the PUBLIC MARKET and nearby are some PASALUBONG KIOSKS selling native delicacies like Ampao and the must-try Carcar Chicharon. Don’t leave without it! Below are pictures of the Public Market and Pasalubong Kiosks around the Rotunda.

Carcar City Cebu Public Market & Pasalubong Kiosks

SECOND STOP – PLAZA: From the ROTUNDA, I walked north along the NAT’L. HIGHWAY [Natalio B. Bacalso South Nat’l. Highway] to the CITY PLAZA which is on top of a hill. Along the way is an old white and blue house to the left and at the four-corners at the intersection going up the Plaza are heritage houses, evidently preserved notwithstanding commercial establishments on the ground floor. I was thinking, it may work well in its preservation.

Carcar City Cebu Old Houses

Going uphill, there is the monument of LEON KILAT to the left. Leon Kilat was a native of Negros Oriental but became the revolutionary leader in Cebu against Spain. On top of the hill, the monument of JOSE RIZAL is the centerpiece. To the right is the CITY HALL and LEGISLATIVE BULDING. Next is the CARCAR MUSEUM [a.k.a. DISPENSARY], the ST, CATHERINE’S COLLEGE, the CARCAR CHURCH, and the UPHILL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL rounding the Rizal Monument. The Plaza itself has a lot of heritage structures and if you have a very limited time, the Plaza is already a good stop to experience Carcar City.

Carcar City Leon Kilat and Jose Rizal Monument
Carcar City Hall Cebu
Carcar City Cebu Museum Carcar City Cebu St Catherines Administration Building

Carcar City Cebu Church
Uphill Elementary School Carcar City Cebu

THIRD STOP – STA. CATALINA STREET: Going downhill, I walked straight to STA. CATALINA STREET where most heritage houses can be found. I enjoyed this walk and I suggest try the side streets. I may have missed other old houses but these were what I saw along the way and have greatly appreciated. As of my walk, there are old houses undergoing improvements and some still needs the same. Houses along Sta. Catalina Street below: 

Carcar City Cebu Old Houses in Sta Catalina Street

After Sta. Catalina, I thought I was done with my Carcar Walk but there was one last stop!

FOURTH STOP – MANCAO PANUNCIALMAN HOUSE: I did not walk to see Mancao Residence, it’s quite far from downtown. Hired a tricycle for 10P going to Gaisano Mall. Mancao Residence is immediately before the Mall. The Residence is huge and it is marvellous! The caretaker toured me but unfortunately cameras are not allowed inside. It was alright.

Carcar City Cebu Mancao-Panuncialman House

From the Mancao Residence, I waited for a bus going to the Cebu City – and that officially ended my Carcar Walk of Spanish-American edifice and structures.[See complete set of photos of my Carcar Walk in my Flickr]

constantine agustin carcar city cebu

[See complete set of photos of my Carcar Walk in my Flickr]

SUMMARY OF MY STOPS:

First Stop: Rotunda/Public Market

Second Stop: Plaza

Third Stop: Sta. Catalina Street

Fourth Stop: Mancao-Panuncialman House

MAP OF MY STOPS:

Carcar Map

READ MORE ON CEBU – THIS BLOG:

My Cebu City Heritage Walk [2013]

Jesuit House 1730 Cebu City [2013]

My Sinulog 2012 Photos

My Mantayupan Falls – Cebu [2011]

My Cebu 2010

OTHER WALK TOURS – THIS BLOG:

Iloilo City: Downtown

Iloilo City: Jaro

Iloilo City La Paz

torn-signature

This entry was posted in Cebu, Photos, Visayas, Walk Tour Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CARCAR CITY: My Walk of the Heritage City of Cebu!

  1. In Mancao-Panuncialman-House, Carcar City Museum and Other Ancestral Houses, what day can I visit inside?

    thanks

  2. In Mancao-Panuncialman Residence, Carcar City Museum and other ancestral houses, what day can we able to get inside?

    Thanks

  3. Pingback: MANTAYUPAN FALLS: Cebu! | Torn's Blog: Biagkensiak

  4. Pingback: CEBU CITY: Sto. Nino de Cebu Shrine/Basilica, Magellan’s Cross, Parian Heritage Monument & Yap-Sandiego Ancestral House | Torn's Blog: Biagkensiak

  5. Pingback: SINULOG FESTIVAL: 2012 Photos | Torn's Blog: Biagkensiak

  6. Pingback: JESUIT HOUSE 1730 CEBU CITY: Suddenly Surprising! | Torn's Blog: Biagkensiak

  7. Pingback: CEBU CITY: A Solo Heritage Walk! [Cebu Walk Tour Series] | Torn's Blog: Biagkensiak

Leave a Reply

