(More of) My Sister’s Collection

euforbia_green.jpg

Ilocos, I must say is a euforbia-crazy province. Upon entering the province, you will notice that almost every house has a euforbia plant in the front yard. Our’s is not an exception. My sister even knows how many stems her varieteies have. The soil is special that she always bother me to get some from Calauan, Laguna. Everytime I go home, I always see to it that we go out on market days to scout for more varieties and I always end up spending more than what I have budgeted. Be that as it may, I have found joy in taking pictures of these flowers and they do not fail to amaze me everytime. Flowers have always been one of my favorite subjects because they emit a certain calmness to anyone who merely stares at them…For more of my sister’s collection, please check out my “flickr” window above.

Gallery | This entry was posted in A. ILOCOS, Biag (Life of Ilocano's), Gameng (Crafts), Ladawan (Photos). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (More of) My Sister’s Collection

  1. jing says:

    Hi, boie!
    It’s EUPHORBIA…there are over 2000 species of Euphorbias in the world. They range from annual weeds to trees. They all have latex and a unique flower structure. A significant percentage is succulent, but they are mostly originating from Africa and Madagascar. The Euphorbias are named after a Greek surgeon called Euphorbus. He was physician of Juba II who was the Romanised king of a North African kingdom, and is supposed to have used their milky latex as an ingredient for his potions. (http://www.desert-tropicals.com/Plants/Euphorbiaceae/Euphorbia.html)

    Can you ask your sister to give me the variety with apple green flowers? Free ha!!
    thanks…mwaah!

Leave a Reply

