The big small salt refinery!

saltrefinery.jpg 

My concept of a “refinery” totally changed when I saw this, in Pasuquin, Ilocos Norte. I stopped along the national highway where there are stalls selling salt (iodized), (sugar cane) vinegar and (fresh) fish. I bought vinegar and salt for home on this store (and so I thought it was), until I realized that it was a “refinery” I was buying from. My concept of a refinery being a huge factory with massive machineries discharging smoke where people cannot almost hear each other because of the sound of the machines, totally crushed when I went inside this salt “refinery”.

saltinside1.jpg

It consist of two big basins containing salt water (and other ingredients for iodized salt) heated by charcoal, stirred manually by two people (one per basin) until they produce the salt. It’s so hot inside that I have to go out after a couple of minutes. Outside, I saw on the other side of the road, another salt “refinery” with the same name. I told myself, “Manong” (older man) Arnulfo is probably the “salt magnate” of this town! By the way, I came to know that the place produces only “iodized salt” per provincial regulation.

Gallery | This entry was posted in A. ILOCOS, Biag (Life of Ilocano's), Lugar (Places), Makan (Food). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The big small salt refinery!

  1. Liza says:

    If you ever want to see a reader’s feedback🙂 , I rate this post for four from five. Detailed info, but I have to go to that damn google to find the missed parts. Thanks, anyway!

  2. Jon, thanks for leaving your comment; Ron, we thought exactly the same! Mary Mae, thanks for your comment. Try blogging it’s really fun. Let me know if you have started it.

  3. mary mae says:

    ganda mga pix mo..i am also trying to start my blog pero d ko alam where to start…

  4. Ron says:

    We went to see this salt factory as described. When my wife’s brother mentioned it-I was thinking of a huge smoking factory as what we usually have here in North America. Surprise!

Leave a Reply

