How to dry your Rice

It is this time of the year that people here dry their rice because it’s past the harvest season. They dry their rice for several reasons, foremost of which is to lengthen its shelf life to last until the next harvest season if it is for personal consumption. If they sell it, no buyer may take the risk of buying undried rice because it may easily rot.

bilagirikyellowedited.jpg

Producing rice is a long and hard process and drying it is the second to the last step before we can cook and finally serve it in the table. The last process would be taking out the rice from its husk which is done by milling or for some, manually (Yes! There are still some who do it and we call it “bayo”.) Drying rice is not an even an easy step. Farmers have to spread the rice in the heat of the sun the whole day, not only once but several times (I used to do it as a child; my (late)father taught me so). They have to dry the rice as early as when they feel the heat of the sun and they have to spread it in a place where it’s dry; solution – the road (for some, even on highways); it is the best option! This is a familiar sight here and it has become a practice. For some, it may be a nuisance especially to drivers but I have come to understand that for lack of better option, they have to do this and I respect that. While there is a regulation on the prohibition of drying rice on the highways, just exercise a little patience when you see one as a sign of respect to what have become a part of their customs. The next time you eat rice, you know how it was dried. 🙂

Gallery | This entry was posted in A. ILOCOS, Biag (Life of Ilocano's), Ladawan (Photos), Makan (Food). Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How to dry your Rice

  1. Constantine says:

    Hi Doc E! Big thx for visiting and you’re always welcome to drop by. I hope to meet you in your next visit and I am willing to tour around the place you have missed for a very long time. Let’s dry rice again…hehe!

  2. Anonymous says:

    For lack of some sensible things to do today, I chanced upon your “corner” Constantine and did I really enjoy reading the items and of course their corresponding pictures. Having come from far-away Ilocos myself, I am suddenly being transported back in time and to tell you frankly, I can relate to the experiences you so vividly portray through words and pictures. Hope to meet you in one of my future visits to the Philippines, particularly Ilocos Norte where I am originally from. Doc E.

  3. Darcy, thanks for visiting! See you again.

  4. darcy says:

    We must commend you for the images that you have posted. Bellisima!

  5. myrkah, thanks for visiting.Wow, I need not be there to experience it then 🙂

  6. myrkah says:

    In South America,they dry coffee beans the way they dry rice in the philippines

  7. Jon, di ako magtataka kung balang araw pati damit sa daan na rin binibilad, hehe; Ar Arusip, after having an allergy, I’d rather wash the dishes :); Ron, I didn’t notice that! Now I appreciate the pix better :); Camille, thanks for visiting and for the kind words. Yes, I am Ilocano and I like Ilocos a lot that I am presenting things about the province not many visitors may not know. See you again!

  8. Camille says:

    You’re a good photographer. 🙂 We share the same passion in photography. Ilocano din po pala kayo. Hehe. Wala lang. Anyway, keep up the good work and God bless. 😀

  9. ron says:

    The bright yellow vehicle matches the pale yellow rice. Even the local folks have aesthetic sense.No cool colors on a hot day!

  10. ar arusip says:

    Ay sus,apo! I remember doing this chore before I left the Philippines. And believe me,it was not y favorite thing to do. First of all,it’s very hot and then you get very itchy because of the “something” grom the rice husk.However,these experiences made me appreciate that in as much as rice gives you that “natangken nga bussog”,there’s really no easy work about it.From the time it’s planted to the time it’s harvested. After you eat,you still have to wash the dishes!

  11. JoN says:

    Di ba pati asin sa daan din binibilad..all I know sa Cavite yung kape..ganun din..hmmm..

Leave a Reply

