Pebbles – Pasuquin

There are people who find tranquility in pebbles, stones and rocks. I am not an exception. I don’t know, I can’t explain, but every time I see piles of stones, pebbles and rocks, it has a calming effect on my system. The closest explanation I have is probably because I am Zen fanatic.

peebles1.jpg

There’s this place along the coast of Pasuquin, Ilocos Norte which is known for pebble-picking. When I went to the place in one of my latest visits to the province, there was not only one house that was selling pebbles but that the whole community is engaged in pebble-picking (and selling). You can see piles and piles of pebbles, of different colors (i.e. white, black, grey, shades of yellow, orange and red), shapes and sizes (i.e. flat, round, small, medium, large), in front of every house. And the price? Cheap! Which made me buy a few cans (the biggest can of cooking oil is only at fifty bucks!) with a little extra depending on your “bola.”

peebles21.jpg

The “manang” who was selling saw a duffle bag in my car compartment and she asked if I could exchange that for five cans! I felt sad because I realized they need something which they can use, over money. What intrigued me is when she said I can even barter old children clothes for her pebbles. I don’t mind trading old clothes but when I realized that it was for her children,it touched my heart! I went home happy with my pebbles but at the same time sad because of what I’ve witnessed. I didn’t have the chance to go back but I would love to, not to exchange clothes for pebbles, but to give clothes to that “manang” whom I talked to. Lately, however, I came to know that a local ordinace against pebble-picking is already in effect as early as 2004 (Opps, crime consumated!)However, people here continue to pick and sell pebbles not with intention to violate the ordinance, but more of lack of other alternative source of livelihood. By the way, see the driftwood that divides the pebbles? There are lots of those in Ilocos which you can get it for free. In Manila, they sell in hundreds or even thousands after a neat finished.

Gallery | This entry was posted in A. ILOCOS, Biag (Life of Ilocano's), Ladawan (Photos), Lugar (Places) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pebbles – Pasuquin

  1. balazubaz69 says:

    by the way bro, this is youngest kagawad..
    i decided to create a wordpress blog page
    so i could write blogs here too..

  2. same situation bradah..
    am a promdi now based in manila too..
    anyway, i’ve been to your place too in 1998 when i
    joined the provincial jamboree of BSP..
    i was one of the working committee member
    from the provincial BSP office then..
    i forgot the name of the place, but
    i had fun riding at the back of a “bagon”
    just so i could reach the place..

    Camp Generoso S. Aquino, that is..

  3. Torn says:

    youngest kagawad: nope but i love your place. i’m from piddig but currently based in manila… 🙂

  4. are you from pasuquin?
    nice blog! hope to read some more..

  5. Julian says:

    Hi, Constantine, come across to your impressive blog, and hope you all the best of your life and family, actually i am looking for good quality of coral sand and natural pebble that doing business in great Chinese market, if you are interested and willing to do some biz cooperation, please email me for detail, thanks

  6. Anonymous says:

    I love the photography more than the real pebbles.Looking at it alone makes you feel a little bit of something pebbly!

  7. Constantine says:

    jfi, dios ti agngina ti yuumay mo ditoy. sapay koma ta umay kanto manen…agal-alwad ka kuma…:)

  8. jfi says:

    great to know you’re an ilocano…

  9. JoN says:

    padalhan mo nga ako niyan..hehehe..mahal dito yan as in!

  10. Constantine says:

    Hi Marya D! Big thx for visiting and for the kind words. See you again. Stay well…

    • January says:

      An faitcnasing discussion is value comment. I feel that it is best to write more on this subject, it might not be a taboo topic however usually individuals are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  11. marya d. says:

    poverty knows no law. you have a very cool blog! i had it bookmarked.made me miss home. great photography! keep it up! read about your blog at ilocosnorte-online.com. more power!

Leave a Reply

