Long Drive to Ilocos after Two Years!

18 December 2006. Five-o’clock A.M. It has been two years since I last drive to Ilocos. Having a 112-months old car, driving long distance during the day may no longer be as secured and as confident as driving the same distance several years back, due to some mechanical defect which may not be seen by the naked eye upon inspection.

As deemed fit, I had my car checked a day before we left. I was with my sister Fely, his son Jordan, and Gani, an alternate driver. The car went very well for the first 3/4 of the whole drive but suffered two radiator overheats in the last 1/4.

First Stop: Hacienda Luisita in Tarlac City for Breakfast:

luisita1

luisita2

luisita3

Second Stop: Oasis in San Fernando City, La Union, which is halfway between Manila and Ilocos, where we had Lunch and gas. For lunch, I got ‘Dinengdeng’ composed of (green) vegetables, boiled in water, seasoned with ‘bagoong’ or fish sauce and topped with grilled or fried fish.

oasis1

Upon reaching Candon City, Ilocos Sur, the car overheated which prompted us to stop and ask for water in one of the houses along the highway to troubleshoot the radiator, thinking that the next gas station may still be far.

We continued driving until our Third and Last Stop: Vigan City. The Christmas Tree in Vigan which stood in front of the provincial capitol reflects the regions’ harvest/crops such as tobacco, garlic, rice, onion, corn, squash/pumpkin and coconut.

vigan1

It was already 7:00 o’clock P.M. when we reached Laoag City, our final destination. To end the travel, the car overheated again. We stopped at the nearest gas station to cool down the radiator. The next few days before Christmas were spent on having the car fixed. It never overheated while driving around Ilocos, after several services done. And so I thought, until I came back to Manila which I will share with you on my next entries.

Note: I will be adding other images in this entry as soon as possible. I have a hard time uploading at the moment but I hope you enjoyed the the uploaded pictures so far. Thx! 🙂
torn-signature

Gallery | This entry was posted in A. ILOCOS, Ladawan (Photos), Lugar (Places), Makan (Food) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long Drive to Ilocos after Two Years!

  1. Michael says:

    Hi! My family and I are flying to Manila then drive to Ilocos on Sept. Since we haven’t been home for 20 years, we plan to make frequent stops on sights to see and find lodging. What are best sights to see? Lodging? What’s the best time to leave manila? Any advice on the weather? Appreciate any thoughts. -Michael

  2. GLORIA REMO says:

    CAGUSTIN…it’s me GLORIA Q REMO your friend from INOL….I thought you will attend the INOL SUMMIT …we were looking for you…the lunch was in CURRIMAO D CORAL BEACH REORT on 12/23/06….

  3. sistah says:

    It’s like driving with you guys.The dinengdeng look so good!

Leave a Reply

