2008 World Pyrolympics: Australia’s Entry

You may already know by now that Italy won the latest World Pyrolympics. Unfortunately, I was not able to see the entry. It was only last night that I was able to witness the performance, on its last day, of the last two entries, err, technically one because the Philippines is not a competitor.

L_world pyrolympics_australia5

The show started at about 7:30 p.m. and it was Australia which performed first. On this post are some photos I got using the widest angle that my camera can accommodate. It proved to be not advisable especially that I was in one of the farthest ends from where the pyros are coming from.

L_world pyrolympics_australia2

I took the images I am sharing here at Hooters.That was the best position I can get before the show. I had the option to be at the thick of the crowd but I didn’t want heads to start popping out in my images. 🙂

L_world pyrolympics_australia4

L_world pyrolympics_australia3

L_world pyrolympics_australia1

Together with some friends, we arrived at the site at about 5:30 p.m. to avoid traffic and to get a better position to set up. When we arrived at the bay area where the show is, there was already a long line of vehicles to the parking area and we have to wait for about 45-minutes before we can finally park.

People were slowly building up at the bay for the show. We still have about 2-hours, hence, we thought of going inside MOA to get something to eat and I was suppose to go to a drugstore. Surprise of all surprises, more that the pyro show: we were informed by the guard that once you get in the mall, you can no longer go out without paying Php 150.00 per head to go back to the bay area! We did not like that. 😦

We decided to take dinner outside but two of our friends have to pay “entrance from the mall to the bay” because they got through the mall.

For Australia’s performance that night, from 1 to 10, 10 being the highest, I give it a 4!

See more photos on my flickr set.torn-signature

Gallery | This entry was posted in B. BEYOND ILOCOS, Events, Metro Manila and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

