Pista Ng Quiapo: Feast of the Black Nazarene

(NOTICE: I have accidentally deleted my Flickr Album on the Black Nazarene. Images for this entry is currently not available)

Why do devotees walk bare feet during the Feast of the Black Nazarene in Quiapo?

black nazarene procession 09_barefeet1

If there was one thing I learned when I attended this year’s Pista Ng Quiapo, it’s the rationale behind waking bare feet in attending the procession of the Black Nazarene.

Waking bare feet serves as a constant reminder of how Jesus became one of us and lived amongst us. One devotee was qouted saying “pag-papaalala kung paano naging tao si Hesus!” That was clear and enlightening for me.

black nazarene procession 09_barefeet2

For the longest time, it was only this year that the procession (orignally) took a different route but it was re-directed by the devotees themselves when it reached Quiapo. It was not suppose to pass where we were waiting but when we heared that it’s taking the old route, we stayed and waited.

I attended the Pista Ng Quiapo this year in the hope taking close and good images of the procession that I’ve always wanted, for posterity. However, due to some change of plans in the route of the procession, I never had a good chance. It was already dark when it passed by where we were and so quick that I never had a chance to take better photos. Goodluck na lang sa’kin next year, ulit!

The fire eater and the Paniki:

I realized that the Feast of the Black Nazarene is more than the procession itself. It’s also the Fiesta of the locale and as expected people eat, drink and have fun!

quiapo fiesta 09_fire eater3

quiapo fiesta 09_paniki2

Stenciled in Quiapo:

I also had the chance to have a shirt stenciled with the image of the Black Nazarene and it looked great! I wore mine immediately the next day because I thought I may not be able to find a good connection if I wear it on some other days.

quiapo fiesta 09_black nazarene shirt stencile

See more images of the Quiapo Fiesta 2009 in my Flickr Album.

torn-signature

Gallery | This entry was posted in B. BEYOND ILOCOS, Metro Manila and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pista Ng Quiapo: Feast of the Black Nazarene

  1. Justus says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Who Else Wants To Discover A Rebel Psychiatrist’s Amazing Secret That Lets You Put People Under Your Control Quickly & Easily and Get Them to Do Anything You Want?

Leave a Reply

