Ondoy: Worst than Milenyo. Worst in Four Decades in the Metro!

Fact: Typhoon Ondoy (International Name: Ketsana) brought us the worst on 26 September 2009, Milenyo wrought havoc 28 September 2006. Fact: Milenyo was terrible at 130 Kph, Ondoy even at only 85 Kph handed me in a nicely wrapped waist-deep floodwater, my worst present in my 23 years of stay in Manila, and to all others the worst flood ever in the National Capital Region in 4-decades! 😦

My Garage. 4:06 PM. 26 September 2009

My Garage. 4:06 PM. 26 September 2009

Earlier in the day, I went out for some errands before lunch. Before going back home, I decided to drop by my friend’s house a block away where I live. Rain was relentless even from the night before but maybe because of the absence of strong winds, no one can anticipate of any impending disaster! At about 1:00 PM, flood was coming in my friend’s driveway and in 30-minutes flood started to come inside. Much as I would like to go home and check my place, the flood in the street was already deep. Aside from that, I was thinking that water may possibly get inside my garage but based on my experience for 23 years in Manila living in the same area, the worst flood that I have experienced was only about 6-inches high. I was thinking that even if my car is somehow flooded, 6-inches would be bearable. Aside from that, you take a 4-step stairs going inside my house which made me more complacent. Malacanang area was never flooded with such an alarming high water – that was what I knew, and I should have known better!

Inside my Place. Unspeakable.

Inside my Place. Unspeakable.

At about 4:oo PM, I decided to brave the high waters even if it was rising to check my place. Walking through the flood from hips to the waist is difficult- with slippers. I have to take them out and walk bare feet. It’s like walking in a swimming pool sans the unexplainable sensation of brushing and passing garbage through your feet, short of raking them through your toes! Terrible! You can not walk as fast as you would like to because you have to be cautious of anything that you step on which may make things worst.

Malacanang Palace was not spared. Stinky.

Malacanang Palace was not spared. Stinky.

JP Laurel going to Malacanang. Mediocre

JP Laurel going to Malacanang. Mediocre

Buencamino Street near Malacanang

Buencamino Street near Malacanang

Lamentable but common sight. Malacanang area.

Lamentable but common sight. Malacanang area.

I cannot do so much inside my house except to secure my dog and save whatever I can. I decided to stay out for the night because the flood was still rising.

At about 6:oo AM the next day, I went back and the flood has barely subsided. I started by taking out my wet belongings and started cleaning. I don’t know when I am finally done with the aftermath of Ondoy. There is still rain up to now. In Milenyo, the the sun was already up the next day, unlike Ondoy.

My Street. 6:07 AM. Next day.

My Street. 6:07 AM. Next day.

My Garage. Next day. Unchanged.

My Garage. Next day. Unchanged.

After this post, I’m going back to clean whatever is there to be cleaned and there are a lot! Ay Ondoy, you may have been so dreadful but this 175 Pounds of pure meat is coming to clean your mess! 🙂

At this time, it will not be nice to point our fingers to anyone for blame. Instead, let’s just continue to help in any way we can. This will come to pass. We’ll be better citizens!

torn-signature

Gallery | This entry was posted in B. BEYOND ILOCOS, Metro Manila and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ondoy: Worst than Milenyo. Worst in Four Decades in the Metro!

  1. Ces Tunacao says:

    Hi! I know this is such an ood post of yours, but I’d like to know if it still floods in your area. Were planning to Move at matienza street, i was just wondering if it still floods like previous typhoons sendong etc? your insight will be very helpful to us. thank you!

Leave a Reply

